easy as 1, 2, 3

I made these for Valentine’s day for my son’s 2nd grade class.  They were a huge success, and he asked for them again for his birthday instead of the usual cupcake.  It’s a great alternative and a great end to a meal.  Everyone loves these and they are simple and easy to make…and a nice treat for those watching their weight.  These were made with Valhrona Chocolate.  It just so happened that my local grocery store had these beautiful huge chunks of fine chocolate on sale so I grabbed a few blocks.  Just chop the chocolate small and put place in a glass bowl.  You can either melt it over a double boiler or even at a low temp in the microwave for 40 second intervals.  I add a few tablespoons of light corn syrup and you are ready to dip!  The oversized long stemmed strawberries work really well.


2 Comments

Filed under baking, confections, Cooking, Baking, Food, diet, fitness, weight loss, recipes

2 responses to “easy as 1, 2, 3

  1. We’re going to do this for our anniversary dinner next week. Thanks for the tip about corn syrup, sometimes the chocolate will clump and I bet that prevents it.

    • mia

      Yes, it does, and makes them a bit glossy. I lay them out on wax paper on a sheet-pan and refrigerate immediately. Happy Anniversary!

Leave a comment