pumpkin pie

DSC_0033

My 6 year old son is a HUGE fan of pumpkin pie. Last week we made a pie together, and almost every night for a week he enjoyed a slice after dinner.  So tonight, he asked if we could make another.  I happily obliged.  As I set out to make our pie from my stockpile of Libby’s canned pumpkin, my little guy said…”Wait!”  Can we use real pumpkin?  We have a bunch outside on the front step!”  So we set out together to make our pie from fresh pumpkin.

I do love having canned pumpkin on hand, it is one of the top 10 super foods!!  I like to add it to cakes and brownies and omit the fat.  My kids also love pumpkin bread and cupcakes, so I like having it available.

Making pie from fresh pumpkin is more nutritious and actually quite simple.  Make sure that you use the small sugar pumpkins.

DSC_0147

First, we scrubbed our pumpkin clean. Then I cut it down the middle with a long serrated knife.  We scooped out all the stringy fibrous  material and seeds with a sturdy ice-cream scoop.  (You can save the seeds and roast in the oven with melted butter salt and brown sugar).

Quarter the pumpkin, place it on a baking sheet with some butter and brown sugar and a little salt.  Roast it in a 350 oven (i cranked up the convection).  Let it roast until it is tender, about 35-40 minutes or so.

DSC_0179

DSC_0192

DSC_0235

Let cool.  When you can comfortably handle the pumpkin with your hands, peel off the skin and discard.

DSC_0265

Puree the pumpkin in a Cuisinart, blender…or whatever you have.

DSC_0269

Preheat oven to 425…mix together:

1 3/4 cups of pureed pumpkin

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 /4 cloves

1/4 allspice

1 tbls vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups of heavy cream

1  9″ deep dish pie shell

Mix it all together simply in a bowl with a wire whisk…that’s it!!  Pour into pie shell and bake at 425 for 15 minutes, lower temp to 350 for 40-50 minutes

DSC_0275

DSC_0005

3 Comments

Filed under baking, confections, cooking, Cooking, Baking, Food, entertaining, food, Health, recipes

3 responses to “pumpkin pie

  1. omg!!!! that looks n sounds sooooo good mia. I’m now craving pumpkin pie. lol. I gotta say 1) it looks so delish, 2) the photos r beautifully composed n shot, n 3) u make it sound so easy. I may have to try my hand at making a pumpkin pie. I bet Lucas had a blast. 🙂

  2. ps – u can check out a really cool (n super detailed) recipe on my site. pictureystuff.com

  3. Lauretta

    Mia!!!! love the photos BE-A-utiful and I love this site so glad I glad I found you . We are huge punkin pin fans will try this one fer sure !
    xolk

Leave a Reply

